U.S. WIN Executive Leadership Changes in 2023

U.S. Women in Nuclear is led by a Steering Committee which drives the national agenda and sets the national strategic and policy goals for the organization. This committee is led by a chairperson who serves for two terms. During the 2023 U.S. WIN Conference in Scottsdale, AZ, Juliann Edwards became the U.S. WIN Chair, and Victoria Dennis transitioned into the Past Chair role, in which she will serve as a mentor to Juliann and will represent U.S. WIN to the global Women in Nuclear (WiN Global) organization.

Victoria Dennis talks into a microphone at the 2023 U.S. WIN National Conference
Victoria Dennis, Past Chair of U.S. WIN and Senior Manager of Nuclear Safety Culture & Regulatory Programs at Tennessee Valley Authority

Victoria served as the U.S. WIN Chair from the summer of 2021 to 2023. She is the Senior Manager of Nuclear Safety Culture & Regulatory Programs at Tennessee Valley Authority. During her tenure as U.S. WIN Chair, U.S. WIN continued working to establish leadership development programs and working with our partners toward a common goal. The PD Mentoring Pilot Program blossomed into the standing GROW Program, and the successful NEXT Program branched off a new program NEXT-UP to focus on hiring more women into middle management positions across the nuclear industry. The DEI Working Group also grew into an official standing committee, the Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee.

Juliann Edwards talks into a microphone at the 2023 U.S. WIN Conference
Juliann Edwards, Chair of U.S. WIN and Vice President of Energy Origination and Development in Power and Energy Solutions at TC Energy

Juliann served as Vice Chair of U.S. WIN during Victoria’s tenure as chair. She is the Vice-President of Energy Origination & Development at TC Energy and is responsible for project development and delivery within the Power and Energy Solutions division. Juliann said that U.S. Women in Nuclear has “provide[d] me active reflection and exposure to new perspectives.” She went on to say that U.S. Women in Nuclear is a well-established and beautifully curated organization that brings tremendous value add to the nuclear industry.

During her tenure as the Chair of U.S. WIN, she hopes to accomplish three things:

  • Context. Share the lessons from her personal and professional experiences while remaining an active listener to our vast member network. Her hope is this will yield incremental gains in our (women) ability to be more confident.
  • Candor. Show others that being direct, honest and genuine is how we will collectively accomplish our newly revised strategic objectives.
  • Curiosity. Lead this organization to be more curious in their roles as nuclear professionals and engage respectfully across differences.

Rebecca Salvadore, Director of Organization Performance and Regulatory at Constellation, became the new Vice-Chair of U.S. WIN at the conference. Rebecca was part of the first NEXT cohort, NEXT20.

U.S. WIN Steering Committee Changes

The U.S. WIN Steering Committee poses for a group photo, and all the women in the group give a thumbs up to the camera
The U.S. WIN Steering Committee at the 2023 U.S. WIN Conference in Scottsdale, AZ

Jhansi Kandasamy of Idaho National Laboratory rolled off of the steering committee at the 2023 conference. She served as U.S. WIN Chair from 2019 to 2021 and as Past Chair from 2021 to 2023. Jackie Racer-DeSanctis of PSEG and Gilda Bocock of Westinghouse (retired) also rolled off the steering committee.

The steering committee welcomed three new members at the 2023 conference: NEXT alumnus Jean Fleming of Holtec, Lisa Zurawski of Constellation, and Denise Ingoe of GE-Hitachi. To find out more about the current leadership of U.S. WIN, please visit https://www.winus.org/about-us/leadership/ [winus.org].