Most Reactive Chapter Contest

The U.S. WIN Communications Committee sponsors a contest between U.S. WIN chapters to encourage outreach activities during the annual National Nuclear Science Week (NSW). The Chapters are judged on the number of activities held during NSW, number of participating U.S. WIN members, number of individuals and public sectors (K-12, civic, government, etc.) reached and the variety of topics covered.


Participating chapters should complete the NSW Chapter Entry Form and submit to by the submission deadline of November 30.


In 2018, there were 12 chapter entries with over 45 activities/topics promoting the uses of nuclear and radiation in our everyday lives, that reached over 10,000 people with their outreach efforts! From these submissions, the Palo Verde chapter was selected as the 2018 contest winner for their excellent outreach efforts, made even more impressive by the fact that their engagement was performed during their fall refueling outage. Thank you to all the participating chapters for your efforts to bring the message about nuclear and radiation out to so many.


2018 Winner: Palo Verde U.S. WIN Chapter

2017 Winner: Nine Mile Point U.S. WIN Chapter

2016 Winner: Savannah River Site U.S. WIN Chapter

2015 Winner: Oak Ridge U.S. WIN Chapter